About the Award

Greg with his brother at his Harvard Graduation, 1989

Greg with his brother at his Harvard Graduation, 1989

A group of distinguished baseball writers and researchers collaborated in 2013 to create an award as a memorial to the late baseball researcher Greg Spira. Click here to read more about Greg.

The Greg Spira Baseball Research Award is given annually in recognition of the best published article or paper containing original baseball research by a person 30 years old or younger. The winning entry must display innovative analysis or reasoning.

Working with the Spira family, the creators of the Greg Spira Award include Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com, Joe Hamrahi and Dave Pease of Baseball Prospectus, Sean Lahman of Baseball1.com, and Gary Gillette of 24-7 Baseball, L.L.C.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $1,000. The committee will also recognize two additional writers with awards of $200 for second place and $100 for third place.

The award was first given in 2013. Trent McCotter won the inaugural award for his essay “Cal Ripken’s Record for Consecutive Innings,” which appeared in the Baseball Research Journal, published by the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) .

Ben Lindbergh won the 2014 award for his article, “The Art of Pitch Framing,” which was published by Grantland.

More details on these winners and their articles, along with second and third place honorees, are available on our list of previous winners.

Nominations for the Greg Spira Award are accepted during a specified time period each January and February, to recognize work done during the previous year. 

Anyone can nominate a qualifying piece for the Award, and self-nominations by authors are welcome.  Read the complete rules for all of the details.